Before I Die…

DAVID LAM-LU BUCKET LIST

Last Updated: 04/05/2017

EDUCATION
• Obtain my college degree – Henry B. Tippie College of Business, University of Iowa
BBA Marketing, BBA Human Resource Management
Certificates: Leadership, Entrepreneurship, Critical Cultural Competency
University Honors, Deans List, Deans’ Achievement Award
Look – me!: Commencement
05/17/2014

FAMILY
• Jennifer Graduates College
• Charlie Graduates College
• Organize a trip with mom and dad to Singapore
• Take an International Trip with the Family

CAREER
• Land My First Job in Market Research, E-Marketing or Integrated Marketing Communications… >>> 04/05/2017 – actually… I turned down job offers in marketing to explore work in academic administration… then ended up in healthcare project management. May pursue a career in medicine. Still figuring out life – ha.
• Own My Own Business / Side Project
• Be Invited to Give a Lecture / Present in Front of a Large Crowd
• Enjoy a Meal with the CEO of a Fortune 500 Company
• Fly with Virgin America
• Master Google Analytics
• Obtain my Project Management Professional Certification

SOCIAL / EVENTS
• Run A Marathon
Attend an EDM Concert 09/28/2013
• Attend Country Thunder
• Finish the Warrior Dash
• Finish the Spartan Race
• Attend a Celtic Woman Concert (hopefully in a castle in Ireland)

GIVING BACK
Donate Hair to Locks of Love ✔ 02/05/2011
• Save 102 Lives Via Blood Donations (~34 Donations: 34 Pints of Blood) – Currently: 4/34 Donations:
06/04/12; 12/04/13; 02/07/14 (First time in the DeGowin Blood Center!), 4/25,
• Donate More Than $1,000 to an Important Cause
• Donate More Than $5,000 to an Important Cause
• Start a Scholarship Fund for Non-Traditional Students Pursuing a Business Education at the University of Iowa

START A FAMILY
• Survive First Meeting with Her Parents
• Successfully Propose
• Adopt a Child < Regardless of whether I get married, I will give a kid a home. Maybe when I’m like 35-40ish?

HOME
• Build A Treehouse
• Buy My First House
• Dig a Pond
• Build a Bridge
• Sell A House For A Profit
• Chop Down A Tree
• Build A House – Starting with Tree I Chopped Down
• Tell Kids I Built the House
• Smile as They Look Around in Awe
• Build a Lazy River in My Back Yard
• Start a Garden

TRAVEL
• Visit Every Continent
a. North AmericaCitizen, Toronto
b. South America
c. Europe
d. Africa
e. Asia1994 & 2001 Vietnam
f. Australia
g. Antarctica

• Visit Every State (Actually Visit and Stay for Fun – Not Just Business or Passing Through)
Alabama Alaska Arizona Arkansas California Colorado Connecticut Delaware Florida✔ Georgia Hawaii Idaho IllinoisIndianaIowa✔ Kansas Kentucky Louisiana Maine Maryland Massachusetts MichiganMinnesota✔ Mississippi Missouri✔ Montana NebraskaNevada✔ New Hampshire New Jersey New Mexico New York North Carolina North Dakota✔ Ohio Oklahoma Oregon✔ Pennsylvania Rhode Island South Carolina South Dakota✔ Tennessee Texas✔ Utah Vermont Virginia Washington✔ West Virginia Wisconsin✔ Wyoming

• Live Abroad
• Visit A Castle in Ireland
• See the Northern Lights
• Visit Time Square on New Years Eve, New York
• Win $1 in Las Vegas. >> 4/5/17 Snap! I totally forgot this was on my bucket list. I explored Vegas on 1/13/2017-1/15/2017… I did a bunch of fun things but gambling wasn’t on the list… will have to slot a dollar next time I’m there.
• Throw a Tomato (Spain: La Tomatina Festival)
• Run Away from a Bull (Festival of San Fermín – Encierro, Pamplona, Spain)
• Have a Beer at Oktoberfest (Munich, Germany)
• Take a Creative Photo with the Leaning Tower of Pisa (Pisa, Italy)
• View the Nazca Lines from the Sky (Peru)
• Hike the Inca Trail to Machu Picchu (Peru)
• Participate in the Holi Festival, India
• Lunar New Years, China
• Lunar New Years, Vietnam
• Niagara Falls, Canada ✔
• Row a Boat, Venice
• Linedance at a Texas Country Bar
• Visit Temples in Vietnam2001
• Cherry Blossom Festival, Japan

OTHER RANDOM THINGS
• Swim with Sharks
• The Ultimate Belly Flop: Jump a Cliff
• Bungee Jump
• Make a Ukulele
The Ultimate High: Climb a Mountain2016 Saddlerock, Wenatchee, WA
• Experience the Sky in Freefall,
• Be an Extra in a Hollywood Movie
• Go Hang Gliding
• Perform at an Open Mic Night
• Float a Lantern
• Hug a Penguin
• Buy Hand-Made Leather Cowboy Boots in Texas
• Ride a Horse
• Deliver a Message in a Bottle
• Go Zorbing
• Be Part of a Flash Mob2015 #Party – UI Student Gov
• Go Paintballing

BLOG
• Complete Moorea Seal’s 52 Lists Project

LEARN TO
• Country Two Step
• East Coast Swing 
• Eight Count Lindy
• Blues
• Charleston
• Balboa
• Tango
• Bachata
• Surf
• Sail
 Ski 04/02/2017 Mission Ridge, Wenatchee, WA
• Relearn Spanish
• Sign Language
• Mandarin Chinese
• Start Playing Piano Again
• Start Playing Flute Again
• Take a Rock Climbing Class
• Skate >>> 03/03/2017 Bought inline skates!
• Ukulele
• Guitar >>> 11/25/2016 Bought a guitar!
• Relearn HTML

Am I Missing Anything? What’s On Your Bucket List?

My Bucket List | //The Blog. KD* via @davidlamlu #TheBlogKD

My Bucket List | //The Blog. KD* via @davidlamlu #TheBlogKD

7 thoughts on “Before I Die…

      • Yes to both! I lived in Japan for three months, using it as a base country for excursions to other countries. For Japan, try to get a subway guide book to help you maneuver your way. I had studied Japanese beforehand, but everyone I encountered were very helpful.

        This place had the best Tonkatsu/Ronkatsu. Found this link while looking up places I have been. Also, you do not have to tip in Japan.

        http://www.eatjapanchannel.com/tonkatsu-shinjuku-tokyo/?wprptest2=0

        It’s been a long time since I visited Europe, so I can’t give current info, but I loved Venice and Island of Burano.

      • VENICE! I totally forgot about it – added! And Burano is so colorful! That would be a fun place to visit too. Thank you for your advice! I’ll have to get a subway guidebook, learn some useful Japanese phrases and visit the Katsukura Restaurant if I’m ever in the area.

  1. GOD Bless you my good man…. You shall succeed……… Remember to always follow your BLISS !

Leave a Reply

