KD’s 14 2014 New Year’s Resolutions

KD's 14 2014 New Year's Resolutions | //The Blog. KD* via @davidlamlu #TheBlogKD

My 2013 New Years resolution was “to be more awesome.” Haha, needless to say, I’ve never been serious about setting New Years resolutions. It’s my final semester in college and this is the year I become a big boy, move out, obtain my first post-college, full-time job, get married and whatnot. I’ve got my academic life pretty much down but there are a lot of things I need to fix (mostly regarding my sleep schedule and food). So I’ll be a bit more serious about it this time. In the order that I thought of it, here goes:

1. Maintain a fairly consistent sleep schedule: Have all digital work finished and shut off all screened devices by 11PM (minus unavoidable group meetings). And be bathed, brushed, and comfy in bed reading or studying notes by 12AM. Lights out within the hour.

2. Be awake every day by 7:30AM (My first of 7-ish alarms starts at 6:45AM). Slowly minimize multiple alarms until I can rely on only one to spring me out of bed.

3. Eat breakfast every day and catch up on news every morning. I need to be out of the house by 8:30AM so if I stick with the schedule above, I should have a lot of time to make food, eat and chill.

4. Land a job in Market Research, Integrated Marketing, Advertising Research, or Event Organization away from Iowa City. This is a pretty important goal this year.

5. Be early (5-10 minutes after parking) for everything that I schedule out. If I have to be late because of back-to-back meetings or unavoidable issues – call necessary individuals between a day to two hours before.

6. Drink water, milk, tea or fruit/vegetable juice instead of soda and alcohol when dining… or whenever thirsty.

7. Pass my Marketing Analytics class with a B or higher grade. I was approved to take an MBA class as an undergrad! They get grades, right?

8. No food past 10PM. This will be difficult…

9. Forgo soda/pop/fizzy drinks and Oreos (After I clear out my home supply). I have a serious Oreo and Milk addiction. This will be painful.

10. Dance once a week – let loose and have fun. Perfect the jazz split by the end of the year and  learn to Charleston solo.

11. No more elevators and escalators. Take the stairs or scale the walls.

12. Snack on fruits and nuts instead of chips. This will get expensive… but I found that nuts are actually really filling! For those in the Iowa City area reading this, HyVee and the Food Co-Op sells nuts that you can mix!

13. Donate blood once every 8-9 weeks.

14. Every chance I am given to try something new (minus drugs and very illegal things), take it.

It’s Wednesday, January 1st, 2014. I’ve reset my alarms, mentally prepared myself for Oreo withdrawal, bought and mixed up some wicked trail mix, scheduled out blood donations at 56 day intervals in my planner, have a list of books to read before bed, and it’s 10:41PM- got to log off after I post this. It’s 2014. Let’s do this!

Leave a Reply

